Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: About that lateral

  1. #21
    Elite Member c_hawkbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Kevil KY
    Posts
    473


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default

    The Galilean Transformation is not relevant because the rule does not take it into account, it's strictly a matter of where the ball was released and where it was caught in relation to the goal line:

    It is a forward pass if: (a) the ball initially moves forward (to a point nearer the opponent’s goal line) after leaving the passer’s hand(s)
    http://static.nfl.com/static/content...ass_Fumble.pdf

    Personally I don't care, it was a great play and it wasn't challenged so it's all good.

  2. #22


    Default

    I wonder how the nfl would interpret the one in the video where the guy throws it over his head to the guy running behind him

    The ball wouldn't seem to initially move forward toward the goal line - it's clearly being tossed in a direction away from the forward line...... Yet the ball does advance forward by the time out is caught

  3. #23
    Elite Member Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c_hawkbob View Post

    Personally I don't care, it was a great play and it wasn't challenged so it's all good.

    That about sums it up for me too.

  4. #24
    Elite Member SoulfishHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sammamish, WA
    Posts
    174


    Default

    1st of all, Russ would have had the first down anyway. 2nd, no way in hell they could overturn that. There's not nearly enough to overturn it.

  5. #25


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SoulfishHawk View Post
    1st of all, Russ would have had the first down anyway. 2nd, no way in hell they could overturn that. There's not nearly enough to overturn it.
    Where Russ released it, to where Davis caught it, was a full yard. It was a clear overturn.

  6. #26
    Elite Member idhawkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Boise ID
    Posts
    316


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SoulfishHawk View Post
    1st of all, Russ would have had the first down anyway. 2nd, no way in hell they could overturn that. There's not nearly enough to overturn it.
    Actually, he would have been a yard and a half short, more if he had slid.

    It was a great play and the ball "initially" goes backwards from RW's release from forward motion.

  7. #27
    Elite Member SoulfishHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sammamish, WA
    Posts
    174


    Default

    Wrong, look when he landed, he would have dove for that first down easily.

  8. #28
    Elite Member idhawkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Boise ID
    Posts
    316


    Default

    Maybe. I think he slides if he doesn't pitch it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •